Appointment of Members of the Elections and Boundaries Commission Motion, 2021.

WHEREAS, section 88(1) of the Belize Constitution provides that there shall be an Elections and Boundaries Commission which shall consist of a Chairman and four other members who shall be persons of integrity and high national standing;

AND WHEREAS, subsection (2) of the said section 88 further provides that the Chairman and two other members of the Elections and Boundaries Commission shall be appointed by the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister given after consultation with the Leader of the Opposition, and the remaining two members shall be appointed by the Governor-General, acting in accordance with the advice of the Prime Minister given with the concurrence of the Leader of the Opposition, provided that in the process of consultation with the Leader of the Opposition for the appointment of the Chairman, the Prime Minister shall use his best endeavours to secure the agreement of the Leader of the Opposition;

AND WHEREAS, the Prime Minister, after due consultation with, and having used his best endeavours to secure the agreement of the Leader of the Opposition, intends to advise the Governor-General that **MR. OSCAR SABIDO PUGA** be appointed as the Chairman of the Elections and Boundaries Commission for a period of five (5) years with effect from 1st February 2021;

AND WHEREAS, the Prime Minister, after due consultation with, the Leader of the Opposition, intends to advise the Governor-General that **MR. ORLANDO ESPAT** and **MR. CONRAD LEWIS** be appointed as members of the Elections and Boundaries Commission for a period of five (5) years with effect from 1st February 2021;

AND WHEREAS, the Prime Minister, with the concurrence of the Leader of the Opposition, intends to advise the Governor-General that **MRS. PHILLIPA GRIFFITH BAILEY** and **MR. ALBERTO AUGUST** be appointed as members of the Elections and Boundaries Commission for a period of five (5) years with effect from 1st February 2021;

AND WHEREAS, section 61A (2) (c) and section 61A (3) of the Belize Constitution provide that a member of the Elections and Boundaries Commission can only be validly appointed with the prior approval of the Senate signified through a resolution supported by a simple majority of its members;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that this Honourable Senate, being satisfied that the above-mentioned persons are persons of integrity and high national standing, approves their appointment as members of the Elections and Boundaries Commission for a period of five (5) years with effect from 1st February 2021, in accordance with the aforesaid provisions of the Belize Constitution.