BELIZE:

STATUTORY INSTRUMENT

No. 12 of 2024

ORDER made by the Minister responsible for Local Government in exercise of the powers conferred upon him by section 18A(5) of the Towns Property Evaluation Act, Chapter 65 of the Substantive Laws of Belize, Revised Edition 2020, and all other powers thereunto him enabling.

(Gazetted 13th January, 2024)

1. This Order may be cited as the

Citation.

TOWNS PROPERTY EVALUATION (SAN IGNACIO TOWN COUNCIL) (INCENTIVE PROGRAM) ORDER, 2024.

2. In this Order "senior citizen" means a person who has attained the age of sixty-five years and who is, or entitled to be, a holder of a Social Security Golden Citizen Card.

Interpretation.

3. Subject to paragraph 4, rates of discount applicable to rates of property fee payable to the San Ignacio Town Council in the financial year commencing on 1 April 2024 and ending on 31 March 2025, and the applicable categories are declared as follows:

Declaration of Rates of Discount.

Category	Rate of Discount
(a) Senior Citizens	25% or 30%
(b) Early Payment	15%

Conditions.

- **4.** The following conditions apply to the rates of discount declared under paragraph 3–
 - (a) in relation to a person within category (a)-
 - (i) 25% on current property tax and on arrears if the person resides on the property and full payment is made during the period beginning on 1 December 2023 and ending on 31 March 2024:
 - (ii) 30% on all property tax that is over \$3,000.00 if payment is made during the period beginning 1 January 2024 and ending on 1 February 2024;
 - (iii) 30% on all property tax that is over \$4,000.00 if payment is made during the period beginning 1 September 2024 and ending on September 2024; and
 - (b) in relation to a person within category (b), 15% if payment is made during the period beginning on 1 December 2023 and ending on 31 March 2024.

MADE by the Minister responsible for Local Government this 12th day of January, 2024.

(HON. OSCAR REQUEÑA)

Minister of Rural Transformation, Community Development, Local Government and Labour (Minister responsible for Local Government)