May 11, 2017

On the 5th May 2017, Belize hosted the X Meeting of FOPREL’s Interparliamentary Committee. The Meeting was held at the Belize Biltmore Plaza Board Room. Present at the Meeting were Hon. Jose Rodrigo Valladares, Member of Parliamnet from Guatemala; Hon. Ivan Rosales, Chief of International Affairs, Parliament of El Salvador; Hon. Dina Yamileth Argueta, Member of Parliament of El Salvador; Hon. Marlon Lara, Member of Parliament of Honduras; Hon. Jose Alberto Alfaro Jimenez, Deputy Speaker of the Parliament of Costa Rica; Hon. Francisco Matus, Member of Parliament of the Dominican Republic; Ms. Maria Mercedes, Member of the Consultative Council of FOPREL, Dominican Republic; Dr. Santiago Ulises Rivas Leclair, Executive Secretary of FOPREL, Nicaragua; Mr. Julio Hector Sanchez Gutierrez,Coordinator of the CONSUDE Project, Nicaragua; and Ms. Angelica Alfaro Aleman, Consultant, Nicaragua. Also present representing Belize were Hon. Laura Tucker-Longsworth, Madam Speaker; Hon. Lee Mark Chang, President of the Senate; Dr. Kenrick Leslie Executive Director of Caribbean Community Climate Change; and Dr. Percival Cho, CEO in the Ministry of Agriculture Fisheries, Forestry, the Environment and Sustainable Development.

Topics such as  Legislative Frame work on Sustainable Production and Climate Change and Presentation of a guide for adaptation and study of the “Framework Law on the Human Right to Drinking Water and Sanitation were presented and debated by Members.