Today, November 30th, 2016, the Senate met for a Special Sitting. The meeting began at 10:15 A.M. in the Chamber of the National Assembly Building. Absent were Senator Aldo Salazar, who was replaced by Senator Francine Burns and Senator Valerie Woods, who was replaced by Senator Tanya Santos. The meeting commenced with an opening prayer followed by the Oath of Allegiance of the temporary Senators.

The Appointment of Members for the Integrity Commission Motion, 2016 was approved whereby Mrs. Marilyn Williams was appointed as Chairman of the Integrity Commission and Ms. Armead C. Gabourel, Ms. Lisbeth Delgado, Mr. Wilmot Simmons, Mr. Nestor Vasquez, Ms. Melissa Balderamos Malher, and Mrs. Claudet Grinage were appointed as Members of the Integrity Commission.

Two other Motion were also approved which are:

  1. Resolution Authorizing the Accession by Belize to the United Nations Convention against Corruption Motion, 2016.
  2. Resolution Authorizing the Ratification by Belize of the Framework Agreement between the Government of the Cooperative Republic of Guyana and the Government of Belize for the Deepening of Bilateral Cooperation Motion, 2016.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:15 P.M.